Till then I guess we’ll just stand around

They’ve got you like the moon has got the tide
You say you’re trippin, babe you’re goin’ for a ride
You say one day soon we will all stand as brothers
Till then I guess we’ll just stand around

‘ Bhagavan Decreed,’ Ed Vizard

I’ve read dozens of posts on Edwards Blogger-gate the last few days, just like everyone else.

I want to see Edwards stand up. Stand up and do something different. This is hardly an original thought on my part – like everyone is saying, if he can’t stand up to this tempest in a teapot, how is he going to deal with them in a real crisis?

That’s really it, as far as I’m concerned. If he plays the game according to the right’s script, instead of taking a chance and doing something different, then how is he going to deliver on health care, poverty, the war?

And it’s not like he’s going to beat Clinton by trying to be just like her, that’s for sure.

Whatever Edwards does or doesn’t do, I agree with Ilyka’s fantastic post calling for a unified front on behalf of Amanda and Shakes’ Sister. It’s probably the sanest thing I’ve read all day, along with the posts that she links to.

I want more of that in political discourse, not less. More human beings, fewer abstractions. I want people to quit thinking of politics as something they gave up after their last civics class, whenever that was; and I want them to start interacting with their leaders, their governments, and their communities in a more passionate, human way. We have terrible voter turnout in this country for a variety of reasons, too many to cover adequately here, but plain ol’ apathy definitely contributes. “Bleah, who cares? This issue doesn’t affect me. Government’s gonna screw me over anyway. That guy up there’s just another talking suit. Bleah, who cares.”

Leave a Reply

