You so rock

4_3.jpg

I have never written a television recap, so I can’t say for a fact that it’s difficult. However, I’ve read more than my share and I know that great recappers are very rare. By “great,” I mean they not only effectively recap a show but do so in a way that is entertaining even if you’ve watched the show, that adds to your enjoyment and understanding of the work in question.

Unquestionably, the best recapper in the universe is TWOP’s Jacob. However, this isn’t about him. It’s about AfterEllen’s Scribe Grrrl, who is in the same realm, and whose L Word recaps crack my shit up every single week:

Jenny decides to do some talking of her own. She starts to come clean about the whole thing, starting with, “I’ve been lying to you.” Hmmm. Killing a dog, pretending to be a manatee-ologist and hijacking a romantic weekend? I think that means you’ve gone right past lying and right on into alternative prewar intelligence assessments.

In addition to the recaps, Scribe Grrrl (along with Scribe Grrrl’s Girl Anna) does a podcast and also writes for the AfterEllen blog.

Leave a Reply

