Unsuffer me

album

I think it was spork who started the Lucinda talk the other morning over at the powder blue breadbox, but I was struck by how many disparate people chimed in with the “amens.”

I don’t know how many times I’ve seen Lucinda live over the years, especially if we take the Way Back Machine all the way, to another galaxy far far away, watching her play for loose change on the Drag. I don’t know how many times I’ve listened to her songs, which one is my favorite, which album I’d take on that desert island if I had to choose.

But I do know she’s always been essential, and never more than now.

Annoint my head with your sweet kiss
My joy is dead
I long for bliss
I long for knowledge whispered in my ear
Undo my logic
Undo my fear
Unsuffer me

Thom Jurek, AMG:

It’s entirely appropriate that West was released on the day before Valentine’s Day 2007, for it’s a record about the heart, about its volumes of brokenness, about its acceptance of its state, and how, with the scars still visible to the bearer, it opens wider and becomes the font of love itself. But the journey is a dark one.

This collaboration — as unlikely as it might seem on the surface — results in something utterly different and yet unmistakably Lucinda Williams. West is a warm, inviting, yet very dark record about grief, the loss of love, anger at a lover who cannot deliver, and embracing the possibility of change. In other words, it’s not without its redemptive moments. Williams has put all of her qualities on display at once with an unbridled and unbowed sense of adventure here on her eighth album. She, her bandmates, and Willner have come up with exactly what pop music needs: a real work of art based in contemporary forms and feelings. West is Lucinda Williams’ magnum opus thus far, an album that will no doubt attract more than a few new fans, and will give old ones, if they are open enough, a recording to relish. West is flawless; it is actually destined to become a classic.

2 Responses

  1. Lucinda, Williams I presume, is the embodiment of musical creative genius in the Western world. And that’s from a Rock Snob of the Stratocastersperic Order.

  2. I’ve been called a lot of things, but never a “Rock Snob of the Stratospheric Order.” Thank you!

Leave a Reply

