Is there an ornithologist in the house?

Any opinions are welcome. These aren’t the best photos, which is why I’m not sure. They were both taken today.

1.I believe this to be a red-shouldered hawk. The other choice would be broad- winged, but I’ve seen quite a few of them and this guy looked different to me. His chest was darker and his tail was longer.

hawk

2. Mexican jay or Scrub jay? I’m thinking Mexican because there was no coloration on the chest. I don’t see these guys often enough to know for sure. jay

3 Responses

  1. Do you know about the Cornell Bird Guide?

    http://www.birds.cornell.edu/AllAboutBirds/BirdGuide/

  2. thanks. Yes I am a subscriber, and I have a lot of field guides, but I am still not sure of these two.

  3. They look an awful lot alike to me, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

