Outer Crazy-Scary, aka “the more adventurous clandestine initiatives”

freedonia

Mister you no understand. Look, he’s a spy and I’m a spy, he work-a for me. I want him to find out-a something, but he no find out what I wanna find out. Now how am I gonna find out what I wanna find out if he no find out what I gotta find out?

******

I’ve gone through Hersh’s The Redirection a couple of times since yesterday and I’m still confused. Or maybe just unable to focus. And I’m the queen of circular thinking, folks. I think this just hit some retaining wall in my brain that is still intact, against all reason, based on the belief that these goons in the administration really wouldn’t go there. “There” being so much farther out along the crazy-scary continuum than they’ve already scrabbled out so far. I know, I know, what a “quaint” little idea, no?

I am obviously just not thinking outside the box. I mean, really, why is it so hard to fathom that Iran Contra was just a training exercise?

Iran-Contra was the subject of an informal “lessons learned” discussion two years ago among veterans of the scandal. Abrams led the discussion. One conclusion was that even though the program was eventually exposed, it had been possible to execute it without telling Congress. As to what the experience taught them, in terms of future covert operations, the participants found: “One, you can’t trust our friends. Two, the C.I.A. has got to be totally out of it. Three, you can’t trust the uniformed military, and four, it’s got to be run out of the Vice-President’s office”—a reference to Cheney’s role, the former senior intelligence official said.

Basically, they are obviously so beyond that crazy-scary point that the light from crazy-scary won’t even be reaching them for a hundred years. As Josh Marshall says:

That takes strategic incoherence into truly uncharted territory.

In other words, for all the attention to who we’re going to attack and how and how many soldiers we need to do it, there appears to be a basic debate (to be generous) or confusion (to be less generous) within the administration over which side we’re even on.

Leave a Reply

