Not that anyone’s asked me

But here’s my .02 on the current slate of Dem presidential candidates as of today, right now. While the Coultergeist crap is still in the rear-view mirror, this isn’t really apropos of anything specific.

Marriage equality: they all suck. While I hate to keep repeating “What Pam said,” she’s right. They want our money but they also would love it if we STFU and quietly sat this one out. None of the front-runners support full marriage equality, and there isn’t exactly an overwhelming chorus of voices, from the media or online, that’s calling them on the separate but equal nature of the civil unions they hold up to try and prove they’re standing in complete solidarity with us queers. Which none of them are. This makes me very discouraged.

So, that’s one cent. Here’s the other.

Edwards: post-Coulter, post-blogger mess. I’m not saying I’m voting for him- I don’t know who I’ll vote for. It’s early, way too early, and right now, I’ve got not much love for any of them. But I keep reading these “He’s dead to me” posts. I won’t pick any one blog or commenter out, but I’ve seen plenty in the wake of the two Edwards skirmishes. If people want to write him off, that’s completely their prerogative and many of them are more informed than I am, no doubt. In all honesty though, no one knows what any of the other candidates would have done in the situation into which the Republicans shoved Edwards. Are we going to make our decisions according to the post-game analysis from the right-generated bouts of mudslinging? If we do, aren’t we being played, too?

I’m not giving Edwards a pass but I want more time to consider him and his ideas on poverty, class, health care and other real world American issues without being manipulated by the Donahues, Malkins and Coulters into discarding him.

One Response

  1. “Are we going to make our decisions according to the post-game analysis from the right-generated bouts of mudslinging? If we do, aren’t we being played, too?”

    I agree. Let’s see what comes about as the whole Presidental campaign process works it’s way. I too refuse to write Edwards off in a knee jerk reaction to a stink (the blogger mess) generated by the right. That being said, I have doubts Edwards will end up on top of the heap when this campaign stuff is all said and done, but you never know…there is a lot of time between now and 2008!

Leave a Reply

