First Draft Krewe housegutting

Keep tuned to First Draft for Athenae’s posts on New Orleans, including this great one just up, about the house gutting work they got accomplished today.

Yesterday when I called Athenae from DFW and told her what was happening, they were just getting ready to go out to the crawfish boil being thrown for the First Draft Krewe. Before we hung up, she asked if there was anything she could do to help and I said, “Drink. Have a great time.” I thought about that later; I sounded just like anyone else missing the boat to a New Orleans weekend.

This is what that trip is all about, not my sad moping I missed it. My disappointment will fade but New Orleans will still be in trouble. We can’t forget that. We can’t afford to get disaster fatigue, or let the absence of news stories about NOLA lull us, or think that Iraq is bad enough, we can’t handle two ongoing disasters, or believe what the government tell us about “a new and better” New Orleans just on the horizon. If we do that, then we become complicit in the monstrous act of letting an American city, one of the great American cities, die.

UPDATED: Sinfonian is also liveblogging the First Draft Krewe weekend, as is spork.

2 Responses

  1. Well, we may have had a few drinks, but you’re right, we were there for the service. And I’m glad I did it. We’ll get you in there next time, promise. 🙂

  2. I will be there, even if I have to drive, which is pretty doable from here.

Leave a Reply

