Backyard photoblogging

Several weeks into the spring monarch migration.

monarch

Note the tattered back wings of this specimen.  It didn’t seem to affect its flying or feeding. I suppose one’s wings might get a bit worn flying all the way up from Mexico to Central Texas.   Luckily for these guys, my side lot is full of tasty milkweed.

Below, it appears that moss verbena (Verbena tenuisecta (Verbenaceae)) so far dominates the wildflower scene on my property.

verb

I wasn’t here last spring so I’m not sure what all to expect in the way of flowers, though it looks like there’s more to come.  I recognize coreopsis plants for sure, which in my experience, are always among the last wildflowers to bloom. There appear to be no bluebonnets but they are all over the surrounding countryside.  When I first bought the property this lot was almost bare dried mud, most of the vegetation eaten down by deer. As I had to install a fence around the place for my dogs,  grass and weeds have returned, aided and abetted by all the heavy rain we’ve had this spring.  Eventually I plan to recondition it back to native grass and wildflowers but I wanted to see what was here before I tried to change anything.

One Response

  1. […] a sample of the offspring of those battered and ragged travelers that arrived from Mexico during March and April: a large, perfect young Monarch.  Its estimated […]

Leave a Reply

