What-tha-F***?

wtf

Especially since Halloween’s like, completely over.

I didn’t take this photo but I did encounter this sign on my lunch break today. At first, it just reminded me of this, but it made less sense the more I thought about it.Given my complete cognitive befuzzlement over the request, I assumed someone else somewhere might have also had a similar response, so I did a search and sure enough:

via Nullamatix.com (a site I might just have to blogroll)

A local burger joint imperatively requests drive through customers to, “Remove your Halloween mask at this time for customer and team member safety.” A logical explanation to justify why you’re driving around with a Halloween mask on your face may seem impossible to compile, but what’s even more confusing is the logic behind this theory: removing your Halloween mask provides safety to customers and team members.

This poster fails to declare premises, a critical and almost necessary component when trying to convey a position or make any type of valid conclusion. The lack of essential construct leads me to believe this poster means absolutely nothing. I’d like to identify a few fallacies in this amazingly ridiculous request, but first, we must create a hypothetically sound argument since WHATABURGER failed to provide one.

Customers wearing a Halloween mask reduce the safety of our customers and team members.

A decrease in customer and team member safety is unacceptable.

Therefore, remove your Halloween mask for the safety of our customers and team members.

Begging The Question (Petitio Principii)
Also known as circular reasoning, this is a common fallacy that’s easily identified. Without clarification as to how a customer wearing a Halloween mask jeopardizes safety, the initial premise is simply a declarative statement lacking proper justification, leading to an imperative conclusion that reiterates the poorly justified premise. Here’s another example. “Florida’s laws indicate wearing a safety belt while operating a motor vehicle is required. Failure to do so could result in a fine. You should wear your seat belt and avoid the fine because it’s a law, and the law is the law.”

Something else from the fine folks in the Whataburger art department that always amuses me is a small zen-like blue message on all their packaging that says simply:”When I am empty, please dispose of me properly.”

Now that’s something I’d like on a t-shirt. Or a tombstone.

One Response

  1. Thanks for the trackback.

    Who comes up with this stuff? What I found especially funny were your comments regarding their bags. “When I am empty, please dispose of me properly.” A fellow colleague and I were discussing that just yesterday! Anyway,

    #1 – Who doesn’t put their trash (burger paper/fry carton) IN the bag?
    #2 – If it’s not empty, should I improperly dispose?

    Those I associate with thought my article was meaningless. Some of the replies?

    “Duh, everyone knows anyone wearing a mask is going to rob the place.”

    … gross generalization. Failed to read the article? I think so . . .

    And I’M the weird one. It’s always nice to find people with similar thought patterns. Went ahead and added you to my blogroll. Thanks again for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

