Stevie Nicks, in the frozen food section, with “Landslide”

My wise cubicle neighbor, X the Zen Libertarian, and I joke a lot about, well, pretty much everything. We’ve both had more than our share of misfortunes over the last few years and if we didn’t laugh we’d probably never make it out of bed to get to work every day. (Her trials make mine seem trivial, believe me). Life threatening illness, death, faithless spouses, divorce, poverty, etc, and then there’s menopause.

So one of the things we joke about is just how little it takes to reduce us to tears anymore, especially with everything enhanced by raging hormonal surges: from the maudlin to the truly transcendent, from actual enlightenment to mundane logistical inconvenience.

So, ala Clue, my waterworks list (which includes the Muzak ambush in the post title) from just this weekend:

Annie Liebovitz, in the library, A Photographer’s Life: 1990-2005. One of the librarians came around a corner and caught me sniffling. “Isn’t that a beautiful book?” she whispered. I love libraries.

My dog Possum, on the deck, with one of my not-even-broken-in-yet New Balance hiking shoes. Little fucker has outgrown most of his bad habits, but not all.
Burgundy red stalks of little bluestem, in the pastures along Ranch Road 12, waving in the wind.

2 Responses

  1. My dog Possum, on the deck, with one of my not-even-broken-in-yet New Balance hiking shoes. Little fucker has outgrown most of his bad habits, but not all.

    Shoe chewing is the thing I’ve seen really get to even hard core dog lovers…

  2. racy, If you haven’t seen the dog story post at F-D, do so.

    First Draft: Human Foodz

Leave a Reply

