“got a fuckin’ kitty on her shirt”

Purely in the interest of national security, for those of you out and about in our fair nation’s airports this busy holiday travel weekend, Blue Gal, patriotic soul that she is, warns of an especially pernicious threat to our freedoms, with her “Hello Kitty!” Airline Travel Death Watch

Here’s the deal: For the past two years or so, every single time I fly from point A to my final destination, somewhere in some airport or airplane, I encounter a grown woman in possession and use of a “Hello Kitty!” consumer item.

This does not count the grown women walking around with “Hello, Kitty!” Platinum Plus Visa Card in their wallets. Or any grown women wearing any of the FIFTY-ONE different varieties of grown-women “Hello Kitty!” underpants.

I have to confess that there are people in my own household who have been known to wear “Hello, Kitty!” underpants. Their ages are 3 and 5. And they received same as a gift (NOT from their mother) to celebrate successful potty-training. That to me seems entirely appropriate.

On the way to Washington, the woman in the window seat in front of my row was using a “Hello Kitty!” CD player. Grown woman.

hellokitty

I pass this important threat warning along for two reasons. First, we can never be too careful, people. The threat is real, ya’ll.

Second, it’s a cheap and easy, and I’m nothing if not cheap n’easy, way to share… my “like, zomg ya’ll, this is such a cool song” geek gush moment, from which this post’s title is derived.

As noted here and elsewhere, I heartily recommend all and anything by The Mendoza Line, and while I’m not sure their final outing, the sprawling 30 Year Low, is exactly the ideal entry for a newcomer to their catalog, it’s been in high rotation in my life, not surprisingly. An album about the break-up of two passionate souls, a document of both a marriage and a critically-acclaimed band hurtling over the edge of the cliff. Gee, why would moi find something like that so compelling?

Back to the kitty, which makes a prominent appearance in the completely irresistible woman-scorned rave-up 31 Candles.

And “31 Candles” is a great, raging mess of snarling guitars, snarky commentary, and bitterness and recrimination, a cathartic middle finger to a marriage that was, and is no more. It’s clear evidence that these folks won’t be making music together anytime soon.

She only brings half of the real power of the piece (“generous bastard” Tim Bracy is not a man to ignore), but it’s easy to understand how no less hoary a guru than ol’ Greil Marcus himself could become infatuated with Shannon McArdle.

As if that’s not enough, there’s this lyric couplet:

You know, you never met my mother
So much for the better
But you’d say “Fuck Me!”
if you saw her in a sweater, uh huh

What’s not to love, people?

4 Responses

  1. The “Hello, Kitty” references aren’t going to get your Blog Reading Level above junior high level. Which is where my blog was.

  2. Yeah I ran your URL and a few others through it, but I didn’t want to break the news.
    NTodd is also a jr high dude- maybe we can hang out and eat corn dogs behind the gym…

  3. Thanks for the linky love. I like your patriotic/national security angle on my story, too.

  4. Thnx BG. If/when I get a cease & desist letter from the Mendozas for using their song, I’ll make sure you are in the clear

Leave a Reply

