Another hundred people

In the past couple of days, I’ve had conversations both brief and longer, on- and off-line with four different people about New York. After every one of them, I thought about the same song, one of the best ever written about the swift-moving river of humanity that is NYC.

Below, two different versions of Another Hundred People, from Stephen Sondheim’s Company.

The first, sung by Pamela Myers of the original cast, from a 1970 documentary on the making of the show:

The second from a 2006 production in London. The editing’s a bit weird in the second, but I adore the energy of the actress/singer, Anna Francolini.

The point is, the song’s as spot-on today as it was 40 years ago.

And for the show-tune phobic among you, don’t worry, I won’t make a habit of it…

2 Responses

  1. I respectfully disagree with your view of the second version of the song. I think Anna Francolini completely misses the melancholy tone of the song. . .

  2. All respectful opinions welcome here.

    i agree she doesn’t paint with as many colors. I think the song has different aspects and she / or produceer chose to go with a more celebratory/wonder/whitmanesque version. Sort of focusing on the awe of the whole thing.

    But I like it. Not as much as the original but I thought it was worthwhile.

    I also like Francolini as the Bakers Wife in Into the Woods. A better fit for her personality.

Leave a Reply

