Moore: “for Obama The Movement”

Here’s why I don’t blog about politics more: because I often don’t notice things like this until a day or two after everyone else does. Granted, the PA primary blocked out the sun for most of the week so far, but even so Michael Moore’s endorsement of Obama was big news for a couple of reasons.

First, it almost certainly caused the candidate some cringing. The poo-flinging from the Rebublicans began in earnest this week, and HRC’s tactics haven’t eased any either. Moore’s endorsement has the potential to be albatross material for either side to exploit. It’s no surprise, therefore, that Bill O’Reilly jumped at the chance.

On the other hand, despite saying he’s more for the movement than the man, Moore does some helpful water carrying for Obama by calling attention to the Clintons’ own earlier association with Jeremiah Wright during the Lewinsky days, and by noting that Obama hasn’t struck back at HRC with it himself.

Mrs. Clinton continues to throw the Rev. Wright up in his face as part of her mission to keep stoking the fears of White America. Every time she does this I shout at the TV, “Say it, Obama! Say that when she and her husband were having marital difficulties regarding Monica Lewinsky, who did she and Bill bring to the White House for ‘spiritual counseling?’ THE REVEREND JEREMIAH WRIGHT!

But no, Obama won’t throw that at her. It wouldn’t be right. It wouldn’t be decent. She’s been through enough hurt. And so he remains silent and takes the mud she throws in his face.

That’s why the crowds who come to see him are so large. That’s why he’ll take us down a more decent path.

For the record, I pretty much agree with Moore’s assessment of Clinton. Much as I hate the circular firing squad sniping between BO partisans and HRC supporters on the neighborhood blogs, I jumped off the fence after the Move On attack, because for me, that’s the first time she sounded downright crazy.

Clinton vs Obama aside, it should be noted that Moore’s endorsement statement isn’t altogether rosy:

I know some of you will say, ‘Mike, what have the Democrats done to deserve our vote?’ That’s a damn good question. In November of ’06, the country loudly sent a message that we wanted the war to end. Yet the Democrats have done nothing. So why should we be so eager to line up happily behind them?

I’ll tell you why. Because I can’t stand one more friggin’ minute of this administration and the permanent, irreversible damage it has done to our people and to this world. I’m almost at the point where I don’t care if the Democrats don’t have a backbone or a kneebone or a thought in their dizzy little heads. Just as long as their name ain’t “Bush” and the word “Republican” is not beside theirs on the ballot, then that’s good enough for me.

I, like the majority of Americans, have been pummeled senseless for 8 long years. That’s why I will join millions of citizens and stagger into the voting booth come November, like a boxer in the 12th round, all bloodied and bruised with one eye swollen shut, looking for the only thing that matters — that big “D” on the ballot.

Don’t get me wrong. I lost my rose-colored glasses a long time ago.

It’s foolish to see the Democrats as anything but a nicer version of a party that exists to do the bidding of the corporate elite in this country. Any endorsement of a Democrat must be done with this acknowledgment and a hope that one day we will have a party that’ll represent the people first, and laws that allow that party an equal voice.

One Response

  1. Here’s why I don’t blog about politics more

    You are very wise.

    At best, politics is a mudfight. At worst, a blood sport (at some times in histroy, literally).

    I never much cared for either Clinton (I won’t go into detail).

    I think if I met Hillary (Bill, too) I’d like her on a personal level. But I hate their self-centeredness. And that’s been there from the beginning.

    .

Leave a Reply

