Steve, you can’t spell cynical without an “i”

So my current phone plan ends today. Not that anyone cares really, but for the record I’m not in line with the rest of the kewl kids @ the Apple Store.

For almost a year now, I’ve had a little counter on my MacBook’s Dashboard, titled “iPhone Buy date.” I was glad to skip the first iPhone rollouts but was definitely interested in replacing my aging (already?!) Blackberry 8700G with one when my current plan ended. See, despite all I’d read to the contrary, I was in denial and thought somehow, some way, Apple would see the light re: the Faustian bargain they made by handcuffing themselves to the the Chimp’s favorite telecom lapdog.

Well, that didn’t happen, and yeah….frankly, I was stupid to think it would.

On the other hand, the Blackberry Bold is hardly sloppy seconds. I’ll get back to you when I actually get one next month, but so far, it’s looking good.

They said it would be called the Bold. Photos suggested that it would be the sexiest thing to come out of Canada since Sarah McLachlan’s Fumbling Towards Ecstasy.

Plus,  T-Mobile is still not cooperating with warrantless wiretapping. At least not here in the US, anyway…

Cartoon: Jimmy MarguliesThe Record of Hackensack, NJ

Leave a Reply

